Design: The Key to a better place


The 2015 Award winning and commended designs are now online. To find our more

The British Homes Awards – Championing Design Excellence

Lightsource, the UK’s leading solar energy company, is proud to sponsor the 2016 Sunday Times British Homes Awards which celebrate and commend excellence in today’s new homes within specific categories and challenges architects with an annual design competition.

In partnership with the Sunday Times and the AJ, The Awards champion design excellence in our homes through the recognition of varied schemes and projects across multiple categories. The recent 2014 award winning and commended designs demonstrate that enlightened Homebuilders and Developers are fulfilling the design vision and creativity of the UK’s leading Architects to create inspirational homes.

Through the annual design competition, The Awards have established a successful legacy and continue to be pivotal in providing a catalyst for change in the design and creation of our new homes.

The entries for the Home for the Future design competition in 2007 demonstrated that zero carbon housing is not only achievable but can also be aspirational. Voted the competition winner, the Gaunt Francis Architects’ designed Green House was built by Barratt Developments as the first Code Level 6 home from a major house-builder with the potential for mass production that would qualify for stamp duty exemption.

The 2008 competition continued to pioneer best practice in the drive towards low and zero carbon new homes. In association with MBE KTN and BRE architects were challenged to design tomorrow’s sustainable lifestyle home.The winning design – Avanti House – is pictured.

In partnership with CLG the 2009 Awards addressed one of the biggest challenges of the 21st century-that of an ageing population. So the competition called for designs for a Lifetime Home – and Sunnyside-up house, designed by Kos Architects, was the overall winner with 12,000 reader votes.

Following 2010’s retrofit competition and drawing inspiration from the classic Georgian and Regency terraces of the 18th and 19th century, the 2011 competition invited architects to challenge conventional thinking and design Tomorrow’s Townhouse with interiors that allow occupants to maintain a 21st Century lifestyle as they grow older.

Santiago, designed by father and son team Alex and Edward King, was voted the winner from a shortlist of five schemes and was one of the three Show Houses within the 2012 Ideal Home Show Village at Earls Court.

The 2012 competition – Tomorrow’s Smart:Home- challenged architects to design integrated, inter-operable solutions that demonstrate the application of digital monitoring and intelligent control systems in the home. From a short-list of six exemplary schemes the readers of The Sunday Times voted Pentan Partnership’s SML Home as their winning design.

In response to the Future Homes Commission report “Building the Homes and Communities Britain Needs” (October 2012) which called for a design competition for a flexible home that meets consumer needs and can be replicated at scale, the 2013 competition in partnership with Homebase, BRE, The New Homes Marketing Board challenged architects to design “Britain’s Future Home.”

“Lifetime” was voted the winning design from a short-list of 6.

The 2014 design competition – “EcoHaus”- challenged architects to design an aspirational home to passivhaus standards for a waterside house owned by the Habitat First Group. From the 8 designs short-listed by the Panel of Judges chaired by Professor Robert Adam of ADAM Architecture, The Boardwalk House by Leeds based architects NPS was declared the winning design at the Awards presentation luncheon on Friday 19 September at The London Marriott, Grosvenor Square.

The 2015 competition focused upon the design of standard house types to help create the development of Garden Cities. The brief asked for solutions on how the design submitted will address public realm vision and the creation of sustainable communities. The winning design – ArcHouse – was announced at the awards presentation on Friday 16 October.

The 2016 Awards, with several new categories, will be announced in March, with the submission deadline for entry at the end of May. To respond to potential flooding issues, the 2016 design competition will invite architects to design a resilient home.

For more information email:

Design. The key to a better place – now available

The 2013 Edition of Design. The key to a better place featuring Award winning and commended designs has just been published. To obtain your copy and back numbers, please order online at Riba Bookshops

Smart Home Reception at The Building Centre

The British Homes Awards Smart Home exhibition at The Building Centre in February was attended by over 100 invited guests to meet the Architects behind the winning and commended schemes which where all on display. Proceeds from the event, which was organised in partnership with NetMag Events, were donated to the Architects Benevolent Society.